Our Structure

AVERE’s Team

The bureau is the main governing body of AVERE. It sets its priorities and provides the strategic perspective and goals.


Espen Hauge

Espen Hauge is the President of the World Electric Vehicle Association (WEVA) and of AVERE – the European Association for Electromobility, and also President of the Norwegian Electric Vehicle Association.

He has been engaged on the EV scene for 15 years. Under his leadership the Norwegian Association has grown exponentially, AVERE has celebrated successful international events like EVS30 in Stuttgart 2017, AEC2018 in Brussels, and WEVA has launched the World Electric Vehicle Journal – the first scientific journal for electric vehicles.

His career also includes project management, engineering, and research and development, with management experience from the oil and energy industry, and in construction, working for global companies such as ABB and GE, as well as for the City of Oslo.


Baerte de Brey

Baerte de Brey works at  Stedin,  a  Dutch  DSO.  Responsible for analyzing the long-term effect of electric mobility on the electricity grids,  Baerte helps to build a sustainable business case around this transition.  This includes  vehicle2grids, solving regulatory barriers and cybersecurity.

He graduated from Leiden  University in  2001  with a  law degree and received an MBA from  Nyenrode  Business University in  2006.

On behalf of  Stedin,  he is one of the executive board members of ElaadNL. ElaadNL is a collaboration of the Dutch DSO’s and the knowledge and innovation centre in the field of (smart)  charging infrastructure.  As an expert for the  European Commission, he sometimes reviews collective European programs concerning  EV interoperability and smart charging.  In his spare time, he is an elected member of the  Provincial  Council of  Utrecht.


Alister Hamilton

Alister Hamilton is chairman and director of EVA Scotland, a role he took on in 2017 having previously been actively involved in the promotion of car clubs in his native city of Edinburgh.

Dr Hamilton attended the Royal High School founded in 1128, and has an educational background in electronics and electrical engineering with degree specialisms in electronics, communications, digital techniques and neuromorphic systems. In September 2020, Dr Hamilton took up an executive director role in EVA Scotland working for the organisation for 2 days per week as the organisation continues to grow. Dr Hamilton spends the rest of the week as a senior academic in the School of Engineering at the University of Edinburgh where he teaches and undertakes internationally funded and industrially supported collaborative research in the field of neuromorphic systems. He is the author of numerous conference and journal papers in the field.

Dr Hamilton has personal research interests in the entropic decay of the global petroleum production system which informs the timing of the energy transition and the fate of the global economy.


Maciej Mazur

Maciej Mazur is the Managing Director of PSPA

A seasoned professional in the energy sector and economic issues, he has been present on the alternative market sector since 2012, especially in relation to electric energy (electromobility). Among his many experiences, he was involved in the development of the largest infrastructural investments in Poland as well as consulting for companies from the oil&gas, automotive, financial and FMCG sectors.

Maciej Mazur is a graduate of International Relations (specialized in International Trade Practices) at the Warsaw University. He also holds an MBA diploma and is now in the process of completing a Ph.D. in economics. He is an author of numerous publications in the fields of energy and social communications and a speaker at many industry debates and conferences.


Arturo Pérez de Lucia

Arturo Pérez de Lucia is the Managing Director of AEDIVE, the Iberian eMobility Cluster wich gathers the industrial, technolocial and services value chain of the electric vehicle market, with more than 150 companies and more than 100 public institutions.

He studied a degree in Information Sciences at the Complutense University of Madrid and worked for more than 20 years as Editorial Director of several professional publications in fields like Energy Efficiency, Logistics, Sustainable Architecture and Sustainable Mobility.

He was Communication and Marketing manager of Energy Engineerings aswell and since 2011 has led, since its founding, AEDIVE, an association with a strong natonal representativeness but an international vocation in Europe and Latinamerica aswell.

In addition, he teaches training in various Masters of Energy Efficiency and Mobility in Spain and Latin America.

Secretary General

Philippe Vangeel

With great technology and brilliant people, Philippe Vangeel found his way as Secretary General in one of the fastest changing and growing technologies: electric vehicles. An engineer by background, Philippe has always worked as manager in the electronic sector. Preceding his role as a Secretary General of AVERE, he has worked an innovative entrepreneur in e-retails, security and the medical sector.

He is fluent in five languages: his native Flemish, English, French, Norwegian and German

Policy Manager

Marco Fantauzzi

Marco joined AVERE in January 2021. His main responsibility is to represent the Association’s position on relevant EU files impacting the e-mobility sector.

Prior to joining AVERE, Marco worked in Brussels as an EU Advocacy and Lobbying Consultant, supporting companies and associations with advocacy strategies, priorities and objectives.

Marco holds a Master’s Degree in International Relations and a Master in Communication and Lobbying